Florida 12 Hour ADI Course (Advanced Driving Course)
The 12 Hour ADI Course is a class required by Florida drivers that have received a court order to attend an Advanced Driver Improvement class, or have had a license suspended or revoked for Non-DUI related citations. Typical reasons students need to take the 12 hour driving course include:
- Court Ordered as part of a sentencing judgment - including an "In Person" requirement from Hillsborough, Pinellas, Orange, Osceola and Brevard Counties
- Obtain a Hardship License
- Relieve Point Suspension - License Suspended due to excessive Points
- Relieve Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) Revocation
- Florida DMV Requirement to Complete a "3 Collisions in 3 Years" Program
Classes Every Week -- Completion Certificates Provided on Class Day
|Classroom 12 Hour ADI Course (In Person)||12 Hour Traffic School Online|
No Test. Certificate Provided on Class Day.
Available 24/7 on the Internet.
|Classroom 12 Hour ADI Course|
No Test. Certificate Provided on Class Day.
|12 Hour Traffic School Online|
Available 24/7 on the Internet.
Certified for Hillsborough, Pinellas, Polk, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Brevard and all 67 Florida counties.
Our 12 Hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course is offered two ways; "In Person" Traditional Classroom course or as an online driving course. Whichever method you choose, your 12 Hour ADI Course Completion Certificate is accepted in all 67 Florida Counties and by the Florida DMV.
The 12 hour driving course is available 5 to 6 times a month in a Traditional Classroom format at our Tampa Center or in Orlando near UCF/ Research Park. Unlike all of the approved Online Florida 12 Hour ADI courses, our "In Person" classroom course does not require you to pass a test for completion.
Nations Traffic School offers 1-day or 2-day sessions to complete your 12 hour traffic school requirement. Two-day sessions are completed on 2 consecutive weekend days; Saturday and Sunday for 6 hours each day. A one-day class is offered on Saturdays or Sundays. (See Schedule).
|Location||Day and Frequency|
|Tampa||Weekends and once a month on Wednesdays. 4 to 5 classes a month; 1 or 2 day sessions.|
|Orlando||Once a month on a Friday & Saturday; 2 day session. Available beginning in Dec 2017|
12 Hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course Information
The classroom 12 hour driving course is provided in a relaxed seminar style format. This allows you to have direct contact with a certified instructor and have a forum to discuss topics with other students. The seminar style courses offers a highly social class with plenty of interaction among participants.
The 12 hour traffic school course is divided into multiple sessions and topics. Sessions are 50 minutes in length with a 10 minute break once an hour. While there is no test required to complete the "in person" class, students are encouraged and expected to actively participate in the seminar discussions in order to receive their Completion Certificate.
We believe in educating our students. Our Instructors keep your attention and will arm you with information about traffic law and other important factors to help you stop receiving Traffic Tickets. Sorry, if you are looking for boring Videos, students will not get those here! One thing is guaranteed, students actually leave the 12 hour driving course with a different perspective about the driving environment, plus positive thoughts and techniques to avoid additional traffic violations.
The total tuition for the Classroom 12 Hour Advanced Driver Improvement Course is $85.00. The tuition includes the course, classroom materials, all State of Florida fees, certificate processing and your certificate. Your original Completion Certificate (for the Court) and a copy is provided immediately at the end of the class.
Students need to pre-register using the Online Enrollment Page. The 12 Hour ADI class tends to fill up quickly, often for 1 to 2 weeks in advance. Students should register as early as possible to guarantee a space for the date of your choice.
Completion Certificates for the 12 hour traffic school course are printed and provided to students at the end of the class. You will receive two copies before you leave class.
- A Signed original with a unique Certificate Number. This copy is for the Clerk of the Courts (Court Orders) or the DMV if you are attending for a Points Suspension, to relieve a Habitual Traffic Offender revocation or to request a Hardship License.
- A second copy is provided as a receipt for your records. We suggest students file this as a backup copy with your other important documents.
- Additionally, if your certificate is for a Points Suspension, Hardship License request or to relieve an Habitual Traffic Offender requirement, your Course Completion Certificate is filed electronically at the end of class with the Florida DMV. This permits you to go to any Florida DMV, Hardship Review or License Renewal office in Florida the next business day to complete your transaction.
Your 12 hour advanced driver course will satisfy all Court Orders, DMV Requirements for Points Suspensions, to Request a Hardship License or to relieve a Habitual Traffic Offender revocation. Your 12 hour driving course completion certificate is accepted in all 20 Judicial Circuits and all 67 Florida counties including:
12 Hour ADI Course
Enrollment and Completion in a 12 Hour Advanced Driver Improvement course is required for reinstatement of a Florida Driver's License per s. 322.291, F.S. This includes requesting a Hardship License, to relieve a Points Suspension or for final release after an Habitual Traffic Offenders Revocation.
Have you already had your drivers license suspended? In the case of a revoked license or points suspension, or if you are classified as an Habitual Traffic Offender, taking the 12 hour ADI course may allow you to apply for an interview and hearing with a DMV Administrative Review Officer to request a hardship license to drive to and from work.
What is a Points Suspension
Points are earned as a result of receiving a moving violation in Florida and not "Electing" to attend the 4 Hour Defensive Driver Improvement Course when you received the ticket. When you earn too many points, your Driving Privileges and License will be suspended. Florida has three levels of Point Suspensions:
- 12 Points in 12 months is a 30 day suspension
- 18 Points in 18 months is a 90 day suspension
- 24 Points in 36 months is a 1 Year suspension
To regain your Driving Privileges for a Points Suspension, you will need to accomplish the following steps:
- Enroll and complete the 12 Hour ADI Course. Then ..
- Visit a DMV or Tax Collectors Office that issues Drivers Licenses to pay your Suspension Re-Instatement Fee. And ..
- Do not drive or operate a motor vehicle while you are suspended. This will lead to additional citations and may result in your License being revoked for 5 years as an Habitual Traffic Offender.
What is an Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)
An Habitual Traffic Offender status is earned as a result of repeatedly operating a motor vehicle in an unsafe manner or repeatedly driving while your privileges have been suspended. Your full driving privileges are revoked for five (5) years. Florida law does permit you to request a Hardship License to drive to and from work after your license has been suspended for at least one year.
An HTO revocation occurs when an operator's record shows that the person has earned a specified number of convictions (listed below) within a 5-year period. The specific offenses are described in sub-paragraphs 1 and 2 below:
- Fifteen (15) convictions of moving traffic offenses for which points are earned including any offenses listed under section 2 below. Or ..
- Three (3) or more convictions of any of the following violations arising out of separate acts:
- Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle;
- Any DUI violation covered under of s. 316.193, former s. 316.1931, or former s. 860.01;
- Driving a motor vehicle while your license is suspended or revoked;
- Failing to stop and render aid as required under the laws of Florida in the event of a motor vehicle collision resulting in the death or personal injury of another;
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle while your privilege's are disqualified; or
- Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is use;
To regain your Driving Privileges as a result of HTO, you will need to accomplish the following:
- If your suspension occurred over 1 year ago, but less than 5 years from effective date of revocation, you can apply for a Hardship License. Follow these easy steps:
- Enroll and complete the 12 Hour ADI Course. The class will help you prepare for your Hardship License Hearing.
- Call your nearest DMV Office that conducts Hardship License Interviews to request an appointment. Your hearing will generally last about 30 minutes. If your hearing with the DMV Administrative Reviews Office is favorable, a license will be issued but you will be restricted to driving for Employment or Business purposes only.
12 Hour ADI Course
- If you serve the entire HTO revocation period without a hardship license, a hearing with an Administrative Review Officer is not required. You can reinstate for full privileges by presenting your 12 Hour ADI Course Completion Certificate to any driver license or tax collector licensing agent office and pay the revocation reinstatement fee (around $70.00) along with any other applicable fees for issuance of a driver license.
If you have questions or require assistance, you can reach us by phone or by using our email contact form on our Contact Us page. You can also obtain directions to Nations Traffic Safety School locations from that page.